Swap the lab coat, goggles, and electrified hair for waders, sunblock, and a baseball cap and you’ve got me, a MAD Scientist that is living the dream.  I get to work with great people, do exactly what I went to school for, better our environment, enrich our local community, and (most importantly) play outside all day!  OK, I don’t really get to play outside every day, but when you do what you love, sitting in traffic and putting some hours in at the office doesn’t weigh you down like it can elsewhere.

Here at MAD Scientist & Associates, I am looking forward to breaking in my boots, kicking some invasive species’ butts, and turning degraded landscapes into beautiful, wildlife-packed wetlands.  On that note, I will explain my background and how I became “MAD.”  I first got the bug for wetlands during the final quarters of my bachelor’s degree in biology at Wright State University.  After taking a few field courses and experiencing the outdoors “off-the-trail,” I was hooked.  Part of the fun about working with wetlands is that everyday can be an adventure.  Sometimes you are completely surrounded by vegetation that towers over your head, other times you are hiking through shady wet woods to get to a vernal pool, and along the way, you can normally count on seeing a really neat plant or critter.

While it can be interesting visiting wetlands, another great part of my job is creating wetlands.  This, as you may imagine takes a lot of work, and can generally be an adventure for an entire community.  Much of what we do involves construction or enhancement of resources for the public (at parks, preserves, school sites, etc.).  We at MAD Scientist & Associates think this spells “opportunity” for educational experiences and science enrichment for schools, our volunteers (who help plant and maintain some of these sites), and the general public.  We encourage the community to participate in the development and management of public sites which not only makes the work go faster, but creates a sense of ownership and pride that will hopefully stick with the folks that will visit them for years to come.

I look forward to getting out in the field this season to meet some great people, as we work to protect, enhance, and care for some great natural resources!

Until next time,

~Jenny

EDITOR’S NOTE:  Jenny Adkins is the newest addition to the MAD Scientist & Associates team.  She brings an interesting and valuable skill set to the company, with experience (and a degree) in education, as well as considerable site management and wetland experience from positions she has held with the Miami County Park District and Five Rivers MetroParks.  Welcome, Jenny!